State of the Garden – March/April 2021

It’s been a long time since I last posted and with reason: there hasn’t been much to say about a garden covered in snow for several months. But that snow is now gone, the days are warming and the Earth says it’s time to get back out there, so here I am!

I’m excited to see the garlic survived the long winter dormancy and is finally peeking its sleepy green leaves up out of its bed.
There’s still a lot of Spring cleanup work to do, but I’m getting all the beds prepped for the earliest plantings.
While I plant some of the cool weather varieties, I’ve got a small army of tomato and pepper seedlings ready for when the last chance of frost has passed.
Daffodils mean it’s time to plant the beets, carrots, collards, kale, cauliflower and broccoli!

Leave a comment