Meatless Friday Ain’t So Tough

Now that it’s Lent I’ve been trying to be good about no meat on Friday. Turns out with meals like this it’s not so tough!

Earlier in the week I cooked up a batch of my home made tomato soup in a bid to clear out some of the tomato bumper crop in the freezer since last fall. Of course a lot of the finished soup just went back into the freezer not saving me any real space, but I kept some out knowing I’d need a meatless option for lunch this week.

To add to my tomato soup base, I roasted some mushrooms and onions with a little salt and pepper. The dipping crostini were slices of toasted bread placed under the broiler to make Dubliner Irish Cheddar melty and bubbly (it’s St. Paddy’s Month after all!). Topping off the crostini was some Suburban Farmer garden basil pesto I had frozen a few months back. All in all, not too shabby for a cold March day.

Leave a comment